PBA Finals 2018:

Ginebra crowned Champions, blasts SMB, 93-77

August 8, 2018 – SM MOA Arena

PBA Finals News 2018: Barangay Ginebra Gin Kings were crowned PBA Champions as they blasted the Ssn Miguel Beermen, 93-77, in the 2018 PBA Commissioner’s Cup Finals this Friday evening at the SM MOA Arena. Justin Brownlee lifted the Gin Kings to the podium with his monstrous 31 points, 19 rebounds, 7 assists, 4 blocks and 2 steals, while “Gregzilla” Greg Slaughter also contributed 13 markers and 9 boards.


Scottie Thompson who was named the Finals MVP of the Commissioner’s Cup, dropped 12 buckets, 13 caroms and 5 assists.

Junemar Fajardo led the dispirited Beermen with with his 29 goals, while temperamental import Renaldo Balkman hoarded 24 points. Balkman also hurt his ankle before the half ended.

Barangay Ginebra ended the Grand Slam hopes of SMB who won the last two PBA championships.

➤ The Gin Kings finished the Finals series at 4-2 slate.

➤ 20,490 fans crowded the SM MOA Arena

➤ Coach Tim Cone won his 21st PBA title overall, and 3rd as Ginebra coach.

Game Scores:
Quarters: 14-17, 35-38, 62-46, 93-77.

ginebra: 93

Brownlee 31, Slaughter 13, Thompson 12, Tenorio 11, Chan 10, Mercado 6, Ferrer 5, Devance 4, J. Aguilar 1.

san miguel: 77

Fajardo 29, Balkman 24, Heruela 11, Cabagnot 6, Santos 5, Pessumal 2, Ross 0, Lassiter 0, Rosser 0, Vigil 0, Standhardinger 0.

Posted August 9, 2018 - SM MOA Arena Pasay

Written by Rock Punzalan for Philippine Basketball News Team


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>