UAAP Final Four 2018:

UP pulls off Adamson shocker, enters Finals

November 28, 2018 – Araneta Coliseum

UAAP Finals 2017: Ateneo draws first blood, defeats DLSU 76-70
The UP Fighting Maroons

UAAP Final Four News 2018: UP Fighting Maroons upset the Adamson Soaring Falcons, 89-87 in overtime to enter the Finals of the 2018 UAAP Season 81 men’s basketball this Wednesday at the Araneta Coliseum. Paul Desiderio once again pulled-off a superb clutch performance after hitting the game-winning jumper with 6.6 ticks remaining. He also finished the game with 16 buckets and 11 boards.


➤ The University of the Philippines gatecrashed the UAAP Finals after missing the party for 32 long years. They also beat a shoo-in Adamson squad, expected to be the strongest challenge to Ateneo for the championship plum. The stunning victory proved the mettle of the Maroons, who were coming off the biggest of upsets by eliminating the DLSU Green Archers.

Juan Gomez de Llano led UP with his career-high 30 markers and 6 caroms, while import Bright Akhuetie made 13 points.

➤ The Maroons were trailing Adamson, 84-78 in overtime, but UP kept on knocking at the door as an Akhuetie conversion tied the game at 84. The rest is history as mythical Desiderio delivered in crunchtime five clutch points to seal the momentous win for UP.

Jerrick Ahanmisi backstopped the losing Falcons with 20 points and 3 rebounds, while Jerom Lastimosa chimed in 17 buckets and 7 boards. Meanwhile, Sean Manganti was a disappointment this time around as he only registered 6 points the whole game.

➤ The Fighting Maroons will next battle the Ateneo Blue Eagles for Game 1 of the UAAP best-of-three Finals at the Mall of Asia Arena this Saturday, December 1.

Game Scores:
Quarters: 26-16, 51-42, 64-67, 78-78, 89-87.

up: 89

Gomez de Liaño Ju. 30, Desiderio 16, Akhuetie 13, Gomez de Liaño Ja. 8, Prado 6, Tungcab 6, Dario 5, Manzo 4, Jaboneta 1, Vito 0, Lim 0.

adamson: 87

Ahanmisi 20, Lastimosa 17, Sarr 16, Camacho 10, Pingoy 7, Magbuhos V. 6, Manganti 6, Mojica 2, Espeleta 2, Bernardo 1.

Posted on November 29, 2018 - Araneta Coliseum

Written by Rock Punzalan for Philippine Basketball News Team

UAAP 2018:

Adamson surges to 3-0, batters UST, 79-71

September 22, 2018 – Araneta Coliseum

UAAP News 2018: Adamson Soaring Falcons surged ahead to 3-0, as it battered the UST Growling Tigers, 79-71 in the 2018 UAAP Season 81 Basketball this Saturday at the Araneta Coliseum. AdU Sniper Jerrick Ahanmisi starred with his 20 markers, while Vince Magbuhos had 15 buckets and 4 steals.


➤ Adamson’s suffocating full-court trap defense stymied the gallant Tigers stand as the Falcons scored 29 points off the turnovers they caused UST.

Papi Sarr was not much of a factor in today’s game as he played through sickness.

CJ Cansino paced the losing Tigers with his 18 points and 5 boards while Marvin Lee added 16. Import Steve Akomo registered a double-double with 8 goals and 12 caroms.

Adamson is now the sole leader of the Season 81 with a 3-0 slate, while the Tigers dropped to 1-2.

Game Scores:
Quarters: 20-18, 38-31, 58-54, 79-71.

adamson: 79

Ahanmisi 20, Magbuhos 15, Espeleta 12, Camacho 9, Bernardo 7, Lastimosa 6, Sarr 4, Pingoy 4, Catapusan 2, Colonia 0, Manganti 0, Mojica 0.

ust: 71

Cansino 18, Lee 16, Akomo 8, Subido 8, Cosejo 6, Huang 4, Marcos 4, Zamora 3, Mahinay 2, Lagumen 2, Caunan 0.

Posted September 22, 2018 - Araneta Coliseum, Quezon City

Written by Rock Punzalan for Philippine Basketball News Team

UAAP 2018:

Adamson's stifling defense suffocates Ateneo, 74-70

September 9, 2018 – MOA Arena

UAAP News 2018: Adamson Falcons’ stifling defense suffocated the Ateneo Blue Eagles, 74-70, to register their first victory in the 2018 UAAP Season 81 basketball this opening Sunday at the MOA Arena in Pasay. Ateneo had no answer to Adamson’s pressure defense, combined with the Falcons’ gang rebounding which proved too much for the Eagles to handle.


Jerrick Ahanmisi showed his mettle, as he led with 23 points for Adamson, while Vince Magbuhos contributed 10 markers and 10 caroms. Reinforcement Papi Sarr also copped 8 points and 9 rebounds.

➤ Adamson’s length helped them dominate the rebounds department, with the Falcons hauling 52 boards – 16 of them offensive rebounds, compared to Ateneo’s 48 caroms. The Falcons also converted 15 points off turnovers as they stole the ball 8 times, credited to coach Franz Pumaren‘s signature trap defense.

Matt Nieto led the losing Blue Eagles with 21 points, while Raffy Verano added 10 buckets.

Game Scores:
Quarters: 18-20, 40-39, 55-51, 74-70.

adamson: 74

Ahanmisi 23, Magbuhos 10, Sarr 8, Catapusan 7, Espeleta 7, Lastimosa 6, Manganti 4, Mojica 3, Pingoy 3, Camacho 2, Colonia 1, Bernardo 0.

ateneo: 70

Nieto Ma. 21, Verano 10, Ravena 7, Asistio 7, Go 6, Navarro 5, Mendoza 5, Nieto Mi. 4, Black 4, Kouame 1, Belangel 0, Wong 0, Tio 0.

Posted on September 9, 2018 - MOA Arena

Written by Rock Punzalan for Philippine Basketball News Team

UAAP 2018:

Paras and Bartlett win big in UAAP preseason kickoff

August 17, 2018 – Mall of Asia Atrium

UAAP 2018: Kobe Paras and Jordan Bartlett weaved magic to win indiviual events to open 2018 UAAP Season 81 Last Man Standing event at Mall of Asia Atrium this Friday. Paras lorded it over in the UAAP Slam Dunk Contest, while Bartlett reigned supreme in the UAAP 1 on 1 tourney.


➤ Paras grabbed the Slam Dunk title over David Carlos, after a double-overtime dunkfest. Carlos is also a pro dunk artist.

➤ Kobe gassed, fatigued and all after six hours coming from the rim jamming tilt joined the 1 on 1 tournament. He reached the Finals but fell short against ball handling wizard Bartlett with scores 11-8.

Kobe represented the UP Fighting Maroons, while Jordan is a newcomer recruit of De La Salle Green Archers. Paras was a former player of the US NCAA Creighton University and Northridge, while Bartlett was a former reserve of the NU Bulldogs. Both will not play the regular UAAP season to serve residency requirements.

➤ Meanwhile, Jerom Lastimosa wowed in the Skill’s Challenge, while Jerrick Ahanmisi sniped his way to victory in the 3-Point Shootout. Both hails from Adamson University.

➤ On the other hand, the Women’s department had Ria Nabalan winning the 1 on 1 event, Camille Claro and Anna Castillo of DLSU bagged the Skills Challenge and 3-Point Shootout respectively.

Posted August 17, 2018 - Mall of Asia Atrium Pasay

Written by Rock Punzalan for Philippine Basketball News Team